About Us

The Poverty Action Research Project (PARP) is made possible by a five-year grant from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), specifically its Institute of Aboriginal Peoples’ Health (IAPH) and the Institute for Population and Public Health (IPPH).

At the national level, PARP represents a partnership between the Assembly of First Nations and university-based academic personnel from different parts of Canada and extending into the United States. Members of the National Project Team, including its AFN representatives, are listed below. Within the AFN, we meet periodically with the Chiefs Committee on Economic Development.

The project also benefits from the advice and support of other organizations and individuals, such as the Aboriginal Health Research Network (AHRNET), the Centre for First Nations Governance, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, First Nations and Inuit Health, and Dr. Clyde Hertzman, Fellow, Successful Societies Program, Canadian Institute for Advanced Research.

Members of the Project Team

Gérard Duhaime Sociology, Laval University
Lars Osberg Economics, Dalhousie University
John Loxley Economics, University of Manitoba
David Newhouse Indigenous Studies & Business Admin, Trent University
Warren Weir Campus Academic Administrator, Cowichan Campus, Vancouver Island University
Charlotte Reading Human and Social Development, University of Victoria
Wanda Wuttunee Native Studies and Asper School of Business, University of Manitoba
Judy Whiteduck Economic Partnerships, Assembly of First Nations
Jonathon Thompson Health and Social Programs, Assembly of First Nations
Chantelle Richmond Geography and First Nation Studies Program, University of Western Ontario
Jeff Reading Centre for Aboriginal Health Research, University of Victoria
Jeff Denis Sociology, McMaster University
Stephen Cornell Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development, University of Arizona
Carla Moore National Coordinator, Dalhousie University
Fred Wien (Project Lead) Social Work, Dalhousie University

Community Coordinators

Denise McDonald Shubenacadie First Nation, NS
Felicia Sagutch Eabametoong First Nation, ON
Vacant Misipawistik Cree Nation, MB
Stephanie Chachai Opitciwan, QC
Dean Billy T’it’q’et, BC